View Full Version : Previous Births Characters of Mahabarata

23-12-2019, 09:44 AM
Previous Births Characters of Mahabarata

This chapter (http://www.sacred-texts.com/hin/m01/m01068.htm) of the Adi Parva of the Mahabharata describes exactly who incarnated as each of the major characters in the Mahabharata. It's too long a chapter to quote the whole thing here, so let me just address some important people.

There's no information in that chapter as to Dhritarashtra's previous birth, but as far as the Kauravas , Duryodhana was the incarnation of Kali (the demon of the Kali Yuga) and his brothers were incarnations of Rakshasas:

Bhishma: The eight Vasus were incarnated of Ganga by her husband Santanu. The seven were killed by Ganga before Bhishma's birth and the youngest of them was Bhishma.

Drona: Drona sprung from a portion of the celestial Rishi Vrihaspati
Aswatthaman: Aswatthaman was born on earth, of the united portions of Mahadeva, Yama, Kama, and Krodha
Kripa: Kripa was born of the tribe of the Rudras
Dhritarashtra and Pandu: Dhitrashtra was incarnation of Hansa (the monarch of the Gandharvas and son of Arishta) and Pandu was incarnation of Hansa's younger brother
Vidura: Vidura was incarnation of Dharma

Duryodhana: Duryodhana was born of a portion of Kali
Kunti and Madri: The two goddesses Siddhi and Dhriti became Kunti and Madri
Gandhari: Mati became Gandhari
Sakuni: Sakuni was incarnation of Dwapara
Draupadi: Draupadi was born of a portion of Sachi (the queen of the celestials)

Valadeva (Baladeva) - Baladeva was portion of Sesha. Baladeva is also considered an incarnation of Lord Vishnu's form Saṅkarṣaṇa in SB.
Krishna: Krishna was incarnation of Lord Vishnu or Narayana
Rukmini: Rukmini was portion of Sri (Lakshmi)
Yudhisthira, Bhima, Arjuna, Nakul, Sahdeva: They were incarnations of Indra through Dharmraj, Vayu, Indra and Ashvins. Arjuna also believed as incarnation of Nara.

Duryodhana's brothers (Duhasasana and others): the Rakshasas from Pulastya
Abhimanyu: Abhimanyu was incarnation of Varchas (the son of Soma)
Karna: Karna was born from the portion of Surya
Jarasandha: Jarasandha was incarnation of Danava Viprachitti
Sisupala: Sisupala was incarnation of Hiranyakasipu
Salya: Salya was incarnation of Samhlada, the younger brother of Prahlada

Bhagadatta: Bhagadatta was incarnation of Asura Vashkala
Ugrasena : Ugrasena was incarnation of Asura Swarbhanu
Rukmi, Ekalavya: They were born of the Asura class called Krodhavasa
Kansa: Kansa was incarnation of Danava Kalanemi
Satyaki, Drupada, Kritavarman, Virata: They begotten of the portion of gods called the Maruts

Dhrishtadyumna: Dhrishtadyumna was a portion of Agni
Sikhandin: Sikhandin who was at first a female, was (the incarnation of) a Rakshasa
Five sons of Draupadi: They were incarnations the celestials known as the Viswas



This post is for sharing knowledge only, no intention to violate any copy righyts