Gayathri Devi – 3 or 5 or both

Goddess Gayathri has 3 forms and they are Gayathri, Savitri and Saraswathi.
Gayantham Trayathe Iti, that is Gayathri (Gayatri protects those who sing her glory). Gayatri, being the presiding deity of our senses, helps us to master the senses. Savitri, being the presiding deity of the life principle, protects our life. Sarasvati bestows on us the changeless and eternal wisdom.
“Gayathri” word was formed by GAYAntam TRIyate – two Sanskrit words.

“Gayantham” means Not mere sound, but musical sound
“Trayathe” means Positive attainment to the final stage
"Gayantam Trayate Iti Gayatri": Gayatri saves him who chants/meditates on Gayatri
"Gayatreem Chandasaam maata": Gayatri is the mother of all mantras

Tri Kaala Sandiya Devi.
a) Early Morning – Bramhaswaroopini – Saraswati - grants wisdom to the aspirant. ( So Don’t sleep buddies )
b) Noon – Rudraswaroopini – Savithri – demolishes / removes the distress.
c) Evening – Vishnuswaroopini – Lakshmi – Gives all wealth and prosperity.


Gayatri is referred to as 'Pancha Mukhi'. These five faces or aspects reveal and reflect the Brahman

Five faces of Gayatri Mantra are
1) Om ( first face )
2) Bhur Bhuvah Suvah ( second face )
3) Tat Savitur Varenyam ( third face )
4) Bhargo Devasya dheemahe ( fourth face )
5) Dhiyo yonah Prachodayat. ( fifth face )

After chanting one 'face' we should exhale and stop breath for a few seconds and then proceed to the next 'face'. This gap of time should be equal and should be enjoyed. In this process the chanter should be slow and steady and should not hurry up.
Exhaling breath after chanting each face and continuing this process constitutes a very good praanayaama system. This result is attained only because the mantra is technically divided into five segments (called 'faces') as above

These five aspects signify all that is contained within and made up of the

  1. Panch Bhutas (Akasa, Vayu, Agni, Water and Prithvi)
  2. Panch Kosas (Annamaya Kosa, Pranamaya Kosa, Manomaya Kosa, Vignanamaya Kosa and Anandamaya Kosa),
  3. Panch Pranas (Praanaya, Apaanaaya, Vyaanaya, Udaanaaya, Samaanaya),
  4. Panch Tanmatras (Sound, Touch, Roopam, Taste, Gandham (smell))
  5. Panch Indiriyas (Gnana and Karma) (Eyes, Ear, Nose, Mouth and Body). A knowledge of the inter-connections of the Panchabhoothas within one's body will enable the Sadhaka to appreciate the inner significance of the five faces of Gayatri.

Thus while the manthra is capable of purifying the totality of one's being (inner equipment), it also purifies the external organs of the work viz. Karma Indriyas. Here Pancha Bhootas as related to human body, Pancha Kosas, Pancha Pranas, Pancha Tanmatras, Pancha Gnana Indiriyas are 'internal' organs of human body while Pancha Karma Indirias are 'external'. Thus both 'internal' and 'external' organs are purified.